Neil Anderson MB ChB, FRACP

Neil is president of the Auckland Medical History Society and chairman of the Committee of Management of the Ernest and Marion Davis Library Trust. He is a neurologist at Auckland Hospital and the Chief Medical Adviser to the Neurological Foundation of New Zealand.

Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer

Neil Pollock MBChB, MD, FACA

Neil was an anaesthetist at Palmerson North Hospital for 34 years before retiring. He developed a particular interest in malignant hyperthemia and obtained an MD in this topic in 2012. Neil has a longterm interest in medical history and has presented papers at several Australasian anaesthetic forums 

Programme Coordinator


Peter is Professor of Maternal Fetal Medicine in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology , University of Auckland. He is the School of Medicine representative on the Society. With Judy Murphy Peter was responsible for the Society’s website initial set up.

Pat Clarkson MBChB FRACP FCSANZ Dip Am Boards Pediatrics & Pediatric Cardiology

Pat  is a retired paediatrician who specialized in cardiology and newborn medicine. She has digitised most of the Society’s collection of manuscripts of speakers’ presentations and historic and other material related to the Society. 

Judy Murphy RN, DipN (Lond), DipNsg Ed (Lond)

Judy was a charge nurse at Green Lane Hospital before working in the NHS for some years at Westminster Hospital then St Thomas Hospital. Judy has experience & interest in health research. She is an honorary academic at the University of Auckland, a volunteer guide at Auckland Museum and a co-author of two books on medical history. She manages the AMHS website. 

Helen Taber DipMus, LRSM

Helen has worked as medical secretary in cardiology in both the public and private sectors. She is also a professional musician and music teacher. Helen is a volunteer at the Auckland War Memorial Museum and at the Ernest and Marion Davis Library where she has a special interest in the collection of apothecary jars, donated by her family. 

Anthony (Tony) Mark MB ChB Auckland, FANZCA

Tony was an Anaesthetist at Middlemore Hospital for 40 years before retiring from public practice in 2021. He presently works in private practice in Auckland. His interests include Anaesthetic History especially collecting old Anaesthetic books and papers pertaining to the development of the specialty of Anaesthesia. Early in his career he spent time in London at the Westminster Hospital which laid seeds for this passion


Past Treasurer

Peter Holst MB ChB, FRACP

Peter resigned as Treasurer and as a member of the Executive Committee in June 2022. Peter has served as our Treasurer over many years. His wisdom, thoughfulnes and unfailing cheerfulness have been greatly appreciated by all members of the Society. His work as Treasurer has been a very important factor in the successful function of the AMHS. We wish Peter a happy retirement and look forward to seeing him at future meetings.  

Neil Anderson, President 2022

John Webster

John was  a member of the Society almost since it began. He served on the Executive for a number of years before retiring in 2017. John is a local Kinder historian and was president of the Auckland Founder's Society. He has given a number of presentations to AMHS on a wide range of topics, each of which reflected his eclectic interests. In 2019 he was awarded life membership of AMHS.  His main responsibility in the recent past has been to welcome people as they arrive for AMHS meetings. 

Ernest & Marion Davis Library


Juliet Hawkins


Victoria Bell

Events Operations Assistant

Michael Boyle